Dental practice management software (PMS) runs the daily work of a dental office: scheduling, clinical charts, insurance claims, and patient billing. Nine platforms come up most often. The right one depends on your size and setup.
We evaluated each platform on nine criteria: deployment, group fit, ownership, price transparency, integrations, insurance verification, contract and exit terms, billing and compliance tools, and support responsiveness. Every platform got the same checks so a group can weigh the trade-offs for its own size.
TL;DR
- Open Dental: best for groups that want control of their data and published prices.
- Dentrix: best for single-location offices already in the Dentrix family.
- Dentrix Ascend: best for groups that want Dentrix as a cloud platform.
- CareStack: best for groups replacing four to six separate tools.
- Denticon: best for groups that want a platform built around multiple locations.
- Curve Dental: best for small and mid-size groups that want no server.
- Eaglesoft: best for single offices already on Patterson.
- Archy: best for newer practices that want one flat price per location.
- Oryx Dental: best for solo and small-group practices that want published tiers.
The 9 Best Dental Practice Management Software Options
With several locations, the first question is whether every office shares one database. The second is who owns the vendor. The table shows where each platform runs, who owns it, what it costs, and how open it is to outside tools.
| Software | Runs on | Owner or backer | Published price | Years in market | Open to third-party tools |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open Dental | Your own server, or Open Dental Cloud as an add-on | Open Dental Software, Inc., independent | $199 per location per month in year one, then $149 | 23 years | Yes, public API and hundreds of bridges |
| Dentrix | Your own server | Henry Schein One | Quote (third-party sources report $400 to $1,200 per month) | 37 years | Yes |
| Dentrix Ascend | Cloud | Henry Schein One | Quote | About 12 years | Yes |
| CareStack | Cloud | Private, venture-backed, Straumann stake since 2022 | From $829 per month | Nine years since launch | Yes |
| Denticon Practice Management | Cloud only, no on-premises option | Planet DDS (DentalOS platform), recapitalized by Aquiline Capital Partners in 2022 | From $795 per month | 23 years | Yes |
| Curve Dental | Cloud only | Privately held, Battery Ventures investment in 2018 | Quote | Since 2004 | Curated partners only |
| Eaglesoft | Your own Windows server | Patterson Companies, owned by Patient Square Capital since April 2025 | Quote | 32 years | Yes |
| Archy | Cloud | Venture-backed, $50 million Series C in September 2026 | $899 per location per month | Five years | No |
| Oryx Dental | Cloud | Independent and self-funded | $650, $899, or $1,399 per month | 10 years | No |
Which Dental Practice Management Software Fits Your Setup?
Match the platform to your location count and server setup before you compare features. Here is where to start for each situation, based on vendor descriptions and third-party reviews.
| Your situation | Start with |
|---|---|
| One dentist, one office | Open Dental for control and a published price, Curve Dental for no server, or Oryx Dental for published tiers |
| Two to five dentists | Curve Dental, Archy, or Oryx Dental, all cloud, with Open Dental if someone can manage the server |
| Six or more dentists or multiple locations | CareStack or Denticon, both built for groups, or Dentrix Ascend if you already run Dentrix |
| New practice | Archy or Oryx Dental, which both price new practices below their standard rate until a patient-count or time limit |
| Specialty office | Start with the specialty table below, then ask each vendor about specialty charting and referral tracking |
| Lowest published price | Open Dental at $199 then $149 per location per month, compared with $650 to $899 for the cloud platforms with published prices, though hosting and add-ons come on top |
| Insurance automation priority | Dentrix Ascend, CareStack, or Denticon, which each offer electronic eligibility, then read the eligibility section below |
| Existing Eaglesoft office | Stay on Eaglesoft as a single office, or ask Patterson about Fuse before adding locations |
With a heavy Medicaid or managed-care mix, ask which payers the clearinghouse connects to and how rejected claims come back to your team.
Disclosure. Needletail AI is a dental insurance verification service, not a practice management system, and it is not ranked here. It appears only where verification add-ons matter to a group choosing a PMS.
1. Open Dental
Open Dental suits groups that want control of their software and their data, and its fees are posted at clear prices.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Ownership | Open Dental Software, Inc., which calls itself a family business. No outside investor is disclosed. |
| Runs on | Your own server by default. Open Dental Cloud is hosted by the vendor, billed month-to-month, and marked as a limited release. |
| Price | $199 per location per month for the first 12 months, covering up to three providers, then $149. Extra providers cost $20 per month, and larger groups should call for a quote. Cloud adds $250 to $2,370 per month by package, plus a $400 migration fee. |
| Strengths | Hundreds of bridges to other programs, a public API, and direct database read access. Cloud customers can switch back to self-hosting without penalty. |
| Limits | No longer open source since version 24.4. Self-hosting leaves security and updates with you. No data-ownership clause is published. |
Best for: groups that want control of their data and published prices. Ask in the demo: how cloud pricing scales past three providers. Years in market: 23. Last verified: October 2026.
2. Dentrix
Henry Schein One positions Dentrix for single-location practices, while its cloud and enterprise editions target groups.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Ownership | Henry Schein One, a joint venture of Henry Schein and Internet Brands. Internet Brands held a 33.6 percent interest as of June 2026, per Henry Schein's filing. |
| Runs on | Installed on your own server. |
| Price | Not published. Third-party sources report $400 to $1,200 per month depending on the edition. |
| Strengths | Dentrix's own site reports 35,000+ practices (as of October 2026) rely on it, and it offers eClaims and eligibility. Henry Schein One states that 90 percent of the top 50 DSOs use one of its products (as of October 2026). |
| Limits | Support for multiple locations is limited in standard Dentrix. Contract and data-export terms are not published. |
If the quote covers standard Dentrix rather than Ascend or Enterprise, each office runs its own database.
Dentrix Enterprise is not profiled separately because its sales process targets large DSOs directly. It runs on a central database for large multi-site groups.
Best for: single-location offices already in the Dentrix family. Ask in the demo: which Dentrix product the quote covers and whether it keeps one database across all your locations. Years in market: 37. Last verified: October 2026.
3. Dentrix Ascend
Dentrix Ascend is the cloud edition. Henry Schein One pitches it at single-location and multi-location practices, groups, and DSOs.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Ownership | Henry Schein One, as above. |
| Runs on | Cloud. Henry Schein One describes it as cloud-native. |
| Price | Not published. It is sold in tiers, with group features split between them. |
| Strengths | Dashboards across locations, Eligibility Pro for insurance verification tied to the appointment, an API Exchange for outside vendors, a Multi-Cloud Platform layer, DSO-specific packages, and SOC 2 compliance cited on its site. |
| Limits | The first demo question is which tier includes the group reporting you need. |
Best for: groups that want Dentrix as a cloud platform. Ask in the demo: which tier includes group reporting and permissions. Years in market: about 12. Last verified: October 2026.
4. CareStack
CareStack is a cloud platform that reports 3,000+ practices use it (as of October 2026). It bundles revenue cycle tools, electronic eligibility, patient texting, and imaging integrations under one login.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Ownership | Private and venture-backed. Its investors page names Eight Roads, Steadview Capital, Accel, and Straumann Group, whose strategic investment was announced in 2022. |
| Runs on | Cloud. |
| Price | From $829 per month on Essentials and from $1,299 on Intelligence, with custom plans for larger groups. |
| Strengths | Groups of five to 500+ locations use it to retire four to six separate tools. CareStack publishes SOC 2 Type II and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certifications. |
| Limits | Imaging and clearinghouse compatibility should be validated practice by practice. The 307% return figure comes from a Forrester study commissioned by Straumann, using a composite customer. The US customer agreement is not public. |
Best for: groups replacing four to six separate tools. Ask in the demo: which clearinghouses and imaging systems are validated for your offices. Years in market: nine. Last verified: October 2026.
5. Denticon Practice Management
Denticon Practice Management, part of the Planet DDS DentalOS platform, is built around a single patient record across locations and has no on-premises option.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Ownership | Planet DDS, recapitalized by Aquiline Capital Partners in 2022. Level Equity is also named as an investor in Planet DDS releases. |
| Runs on | Cloud, in a browser, on Windows only. |
| Price | From $795 per month, with full pricing quoted by group size. |
| Strengths | Planet DDS reports 14,500 practices and 175,000 users (as of October 2026). It supports automatic 835 posting and 100+ integrations. |
| Limits | Planet DDS quotes 60 days to implement for a solo practice and eight weeks per location for groups. AutoEligibility is sold as a separate product. |
Best for: groups that want a platform built around multiple locations. Ask in the demo: implementation timeline for your location count. Years in market: 23. Last verified: October 2026.
6. Curve Dental
Curve Dental has run in the cloud since 2004 and works in a browser on any computer, Chromebooks included.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Ownership | Privately held. Battery Ventures made a significant equity investment in 2018, and the stake is not disclosed. |
| Runs on | Cloud only, with no server option. |
| Price | Quote only. No published figure could be verified; ask the vendor to itemize license, support, training, and data-migration fees in the quote. |
| Strengths | The vendor reports 6,000+ practice locations and 100,000+ users across the US and Canada (as of October 2026). It offers insurance verification, Curve GRO for patient engagement, Care+ (launched July 2026), Memberships (launched September 2026), and one record per patient across locations. |
| Limits | Its roots are in single-location and small-group practices, and its group tooling is newer. Published terms set a 12-month initial term with annual renewals. |
Best for: small and mid-size groups that want no server. Ask in the demo: how consolidated reporting works at your location count. Years in market: 22 (since 2004). Last verified: October 2026.
7. Eaglesoft
Eaglesoft is Patterson Dental's installed system. It runs on Windows only and is server-based.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Ownership | Patterson Companies, which Patient Square Capital took private on April 17, 2025. |
| Runs on | Your own Windows server. Patterson's cloud product is a separate one called Fuse. |
| Price | Quote only. No published figure could be verified; ask the vendor to itemize license, support, training, and data-migration fees in the quote. |
| Strengths | A long market history, with nearly 30,000 users (as of October 2026, per Medix). |
| Limits | Each location runs its own server and database, so a group has no single source of truth. Contract and export terms are not published. |
Best for: single offices already on Patterson. Ask in the demo: migration path to Fuse if you plan to add locations. Years in market: 32. Last verified: October 2026.
8. Archy
Archy, founded in 2021, prices flat: $899 per location per month, with no per-seat or per-provider charges.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Ownership | Venture-backed. A $50 million Series C led by JMI Equity was announced in September 2026. |
| Runs on | Cloud. |
| Price | $899 per location per month, with eligibility checks included. Qualifying new practices can pay $400 per location until they reach 400 patients or one year. |
| Strengths | The site reports 35,000+ active users and 5.2 million patients (as of October 2026). Archy Verify handles insurance verification within the platform. |
| Limits | Support for multiple locations is not described as a specific feature. The master agreement lets a customer end the contract only for cause. |
Best for: newer practices that want one flat price per location. Ask in the demo: how Archy Verify compares to a standalone verification service. Years in market: five. Last verified: October 2026.
9. Oryx Dental
Oryx Dental is a cloud platform founded by a practicing dentist, and it stays entirely self-funded.
| Attribute | Detail |
|---|---|
| Ownership | Independent and self-funded, founded in 2016 by Dr. Rania Saleh. |
| Runs on | Cloud only, built on Google Cloud. |
| Price | $650, $899, or $1,399 per month by tier, each covering up to two providers. Enterprise pricing is customized and not published. New offices can start at $0 per month plus a $1 setup fee until 200 patients or 12 months. |
| Strengths | The vendor reports 20,000+ clinicians and 2,500+ practices (as of October 2026). The entry tier includes native imaging, eligibility, and claims. It supports location permissions and multi-office patient sync. |
| Limits | A SOC 2 audit is in progress. The published rates are built for solo and small-group practices. 3D imaging runs separately. |
Best for: solo and small-group practices that want published tiers. Ask in the demo: when the SOC 2 audit will be complete. Years in market: 10. Last verified: October 2026.
The 4 Core Features Every Dental Practice Management System Should Cover
Four feature areas decide whether a system holds up through a full week of patients, and deployment gets its own section right after.
- Clinical charting and imaging
- Revenue cycle tools
- Patient engagement and front-desk workflow
- Analytics and reporting
Feature 1: Clinical Charting and Imaging
Clinicians work in the chart, so it gets tested first. None of the 9 vendors publish a side-by-side charting feature grid, so test each one against the same checklist:
| What to check | Demo test |
|---|---|
| Graphical tooth charting and perio charting | Chart a full periodontal exam live and see the time it takes |
| Treatment plans with fees, for case presentation | Build a multi-procedure treatment plan and present it as a patient would see it |
| Clinical notes and prescriptions | Write a clinical note and generate a prescription without leaving the chart |
| Imaging sensor link, native or through a bridge | Bring your sensor brands and watch an image land in the chart |
So what: if a vendor cannot complete all four live, on your own sensor brand, during the demo, treat that as a gap to budget for, not a feature to assume.
Feature 2: Revenue Cycle Tools
Revenue cycle tools cover everything between a finished visit and collected money. Look for electronic claims with ERA posting, plus patient statements and an eligibility check.
| Platform | What the vendor states |
|---|---|
| Dentrix | Offers eClaims and eligibility on its own page |
| Denticon | Supports automatic 835 posting |
| Open Dental, Dentrix Ascend, CareStack, Curve Dental, Eaglesoft, Archy, Oryx Dental | Not stated by vendor; confirm ERA posting and claim-attachment handling in the demo |
Check whether the system sends claim attachments electronically and works with your current clearinghouse. Then test it with a rejected claim: ask the vendor to show how it surfaces, who sees it, and how it gets resubmitted.
So what: a vendor that cannot show a rejected claim resurfacing and resubmitting live in the demo is asking you to take its revenue cycle claims on faith.
Feature 3: Patient Engagement and Front-Desk Workflow
Online booking, reminders, digital forms, and two-way texting all cut front-desk phone time. The front desk also lives in scheduling and intake, so ask to see a multi-chair calendar and digital intake forms working on a real patient.
What differs is whether engagement tools are included or sold on top:
| Platform | How it handles patient engagement |
|---|---|
| CareStack | Includes notifications, reminders, and two-way texting as built-in features |
| Curve Dental | Offers Curve GRO for engagement and online booking |
| Open Dental | Sells eServices modules monthly, such as $75 for online scheduling |
| Oryx Dental | Includes online scheduling and two-way texting in its entry tier |
Standalone tools can layer on top of any of these. Weave offers phones, reminders, texting, digital forms, and payments in one platform, but its site does not name supported systems, so confirm yours. RevenueWell says it connects to Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental, and Denticon, among others.
So what: if your platform sells engagement as an add-on rather than including it, price that add-on into your comparison before you decide the base price is the cheapest option.
Feature 4: Analytics and Reporting
Reports show a group where money leaks, so test them with your own numbers. Ask to see these by location and by provider:
- Production versus collections
- Chair utilization
- Case acceptance
- Hygiene productivity
| Platform | What the vendor states |
|---|---|
| Open Dental | Direct database access supports centralized reporting |
| Dentrix Ascend | Provides dashboards across locations |
| Denticon | Single database supports cross-location reporting |
| Curve Dental | Offers consolidated reporting |
| Dentrix, CareStack, Eaglesoft, Archy, Oryx Dental | Not stated by vendor; ask to see cross-location reporting live in the demo |
So what: ask every vendor, not just the four above, to pull a real cross-location report live. A dashboard screenshot in a slide deck is not the same as a report built from your own data.
Cloud or Installed: What Changes in Dental PMS When You Run Several Locations
Cloud platforms usually share one database across locations. Installed systems often leave each office with its own. That is why group reporting gets harder as you grow.
| Question | Cloud | Installed |
|---|---|---|
| Server at each office | None | One per office |
| Remote access | Any browser | Office network or VPN |
| Updates and backups | Handled by the vendor | Handled by your team or an IT partner |
| One database across locations | Shared, confirm per vendor | Depends on the edition |
| Examples | Dentrix Ascend, Curve Dental, CareStack, Denticon, Archy, Oryx Dental | Dentrix, Eaglesoft, self-hosted Open Dental |
Picture a seven-location group with an installed system in every office. Each server needs its own backups, and a monthly production report means seven separate exports before anyone can compare locations.
If you run more than one location, start with a cloud platform that shares a single database and confirm that with the vendor before you sign.
What Changes Once You Pass Ten Locations
When locations run different systems, someone has to combine their reports by hand.
At this size, ask each vendor four things, and ask for a reference call with a group your size:
- Is pricing published at my size? Open Dental stops publishing a price for larger groups and asks you to call, and Oryx says enterprise pricing is customized.
- Which tier holds group reporting and permissions? Dentrix Ascend splits group features across tiers.
- How is rollout paced? Planet DDS quotes eight weeks per location, so 10 offices is a long project.
- Has cross-location reporting been proven at my scale? Third-party reviews flag this for Curve Dental.
At 10 or more locations, group reporting, permissions, and rollout pace matter more than feature lists. Get a reference call with a group your size.
Specialty Practice Software: Ortho, Endo, Oral Surgery, and Perio
Specialty offices often run software built for one specialty, and it is not always cloud. These are the specialty products whose vendor pages confirm what they run on and who owns them:
| System | Built for | Runs on, as the vendor says | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|
| CS OrthoTrac | Orthodontics | Server-based on one Carestream page, with a cloud option on another | Carestream Dental |
| Sensei Cloud | Orthodontics, oral surgery, general dentistry | Cloud, no on-site server | Carestream Dental |
| Dolphin Management | Orthodontics | Cloud options hosted on Microsoft Cloud | Patterson Dental Holdings (per vendor site) |
| Cloud 9 Ortho | Orthodontics | Cloud | Planet DDS |
| Ortho2 Edge Cloud | Orthodontics | Cloud, no server needed | Ortho2, owner not disclosed |
| OMSVision | Oral and maxillofacial surgery | Not specified by vendor | Henry Schein One |
| DSN Cloud | Oral surgery, perio, and endo | Cloud | DSN Software |
| PerioVision | Periodontics | Not specified by vendor | Henry Schein One |
| EndoVision | Endodontics | Not specified by vendor | Henry Schein One |
| DentalEMR | Endodontics | Cloud | DentalEMR, Inc. |
General platforms say they serve specialists too. CareStack supports orthodontic, periodontal, oral surgery, endodontic, and pediatric offices. Denticon offers multi-specialty functionality. If your specialty system works, keep it, but ask where it runs, who owns it, and how you get your data out.
Myths About Ownership and Cloud That Cost Groups Money
| Common belief | What the sources show |
|---|---|
| "Open Dental is open source, so it is free" | The code was GPL-licensed through version 24.3 and became proprietary at 24.4. The vendor charges $199 per location per month. |
| "Dentrix is one product" | Henry Schein One sells Dentrix, Dentrix Ascend, and Dentrix Enterprise, with different deployment and group features. |
| "The vendor owns your data in the cloud" | Curve, Denticon, Archy, and Oryx terms say the customer keeps ownership. Retrieval differs by vendor. Archy charges $200 per month for continued access after export. Denticon puts extraction on the client. |
| "Cloud means no IT work" | Open Dental says the computers that reach its cloud are still managed by the practice or its IT partner. |
| "Cloud means month-to-month" | Open Dental Cloud is month-to-month, but Curve publishes a 12-month initial term with automatic renewals, and Denticon publishes a one-year term. |
| "Eaglesoft has a cloud version" | Eaglesoft is server-based. Patterson's cloud product is a separate one called Fuse. |
Where Built-In Dental Insurance Verification Has Gaps
Most of these platforms offer some form of eligibility check, and what you get varies by edition and plan. Two demo questions show how far each one goes.
Ask to See a Finished Check on a Real Patient
A complete check should return more than an active or inactive flag, because benefits are plan-specific. In the demo, look for:
- Coverage dates and the plan's effective date
- Deductible and remaining annual maximum
- Frequency limits and waiting periods by procedure
- Downgrades and replacement clauses
Then try a hard case, such as a plan with a frequency limit on D1110 (adult prophylaxis in the CDT 2026 code set), and see whether the limit and the date of the last cleaning come back.
If the demo only returns active status, your team will still be calling payers. Dentrix Ascend's own site says insurance is verified during scheduling, and Denticon sells AutoEligibility on its own. Open Dental connects to multiple clearinghouses.
The Connection Method Decides What Can Write Back
A practice management system talks to outside tools through an API or a bridge. Open Dental offers a public API and direct database read access. Dentrix Ascend provides an API Exchange for vendors, and Planet DDS cites 100+ integrations for Denticon.
If a verifier cannot put its result into the patient record, someone ends up copying and pasting it by hand. Have each vendor show a write-back before you sign.
Where an Insurance Verification Add-On Fits
Verification workload grows as locations add payer portals and plan variations. Groups with many locations, many payers, and many plan variations tend to outgrow manual verification.
Needletail AI is one such service. It reads new appointments from your PMS schedule and writes the finished breakdown back into the record, so front-office staff do not need to learn another system.
| PMS | Needletail AI status |
|---|---|
| CareStack | Live |
| Open Dental | Live |
| Every other PMS in this guide | Expanding, with additional integrations in development |
Whichever service you consider, ask the same two questions you would ask your PMS vendor: what a finished check returns, and whether it writes back into the patient record.
Common Mistakes When Choosing Dental Practice Management Software
The License Fee Is Only the Start of the Bill
Compare the full cost, not the headline price. Have each vendor quote:
- Setup and data migration
- Training
- Hardware, if the system is installed
- Add-on modules such as texting and online scheduling
- Claim and clearinghouse fees
Plan Each Location's Go-Live Separately
Planet DDS's own figure of eight weeks per location shows why a single cutover date is risky for a group. Stagger the rollout and test eligibility checks on day one of each office.
Get Security Documents Before You Sign
Request a business associate agreement and the latest audit report. CareStack publishes SOC 2 Type II and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 on its site, Dentrix Ascend cites SOC 2 compliance, and Oryx reports a SOC 2 audit as in progress.
Ask each vendor how it handles:
- Access controls that limit who sees what
- Audit logs of who did what
- Backups, including how you restore one
With self-hosted software, that work is yours, so ask who owns it.
Nobody Asks How the Data Leaves
Plan for the day you switch software, and ask about the exit up front. Here is what the vendors publish, and published terms can differ from your signed order form:
| Platform | Published term | Your data when you leave |
|---|---|---|
| Open Dental | 12-month initial term, then month-to-month | Self-hosted data sits in your own database. Cloud customers are moved back to a local server with the vendor's help. |
| Curve Dental | 12 months, then automatic one-year renewals, with 90 days notice | The terms have no export clause. A 2018 Curve post describes a text file download. |
| Denticon | One year, then month-to-month | You extract a copy before termination. Planet DDS can send data on request, possibly for a fee, and deletes it 30 to 90 days after. |
| Archy | Set on the order form, then one-month renewals | One export at no charge if you request it by the termination date. Continued access costs $200 per month. |
| Oryx Dental | 12-month initial term, then month-to-month, per the pricing page FAQ | One export request within 30 days. The FAQ says data comes as CSV, with documents and images in their original formats. |
| Dentrix, Dentrix Ascend, CareStack, Eaglesoft | Not published | Not published |
The Bottom Line for Dental Groups
Match the platform to where your group will be in a few years. A single office has plenty of good choices, but a group should start from one database, a clear owner, published terms it can read, and an exit plan it can follow.
Open Dental and Oryx publish their prices, and Denticon and CareStack were built with groups in mind. The Dentrix and Patterson families need a careful look at which edition you are buying. Whatever you choose, run a finished insurance check on a real patient before you sign.
How Needletail AI Fits Alongside Your Dental Practice Management Software
Needletail AI is a fully managed dental insurance verification service for dental groups and DSOs. The service covers 100% payer support. Appointments are verified up to five days in advance. Urgent requests are verified within four business hours for a small per-verification surcharge above the standard rate; requests outside business hours are completed the next business day.
When the portal has gaps, our AI voice agent calls the carrier. Our human specialists check every verification before it is written back, and complete any case automation cannot finish.
Needletail is live on CareStack and Open Dental, and additional PMS integrations are in development.
For dental groups with 3 to 25 locations on CareStack or Open Dental, book a 30-minute call with Jofin Joseph, Co-Founder and CEO, to see how verification would run in your setup.
Pricing depends on your locations and verification volume, and we will put a specific number together on the call.









